Open Range Rv Reviews

Show reviews that mention
range slide water problems warranty dealer floor trailer issues camper
Filter review
Most helpful review
BEWARE LEWIS RV OKLAHOMA CITY, OPEN RANGE, AND HIGHLAND RIDGE When I complete this story – I am sure there will be no one as far as I can reach that will do business with any three of these businesses. I will attach pictures of invoices at the end of this sad story. We...
View full review
View full review
9 comments
#2030017

We have a Open Range and lots of problems too.

View more comments
ID
#1198077 Review #1198077 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Open Range Rv Rv
Reason of review
Bad quality

Low jacks

Jacks are set way to low on the rear of the 5th wheel. 6 1/2 of the ground. Not sure if you know but in California most curbs are 8. Making it necessary to do a two inch lift on the trailer.
View full review
ID
#2697206 Review #2697206 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer
Open Range Rv - Bad Slide Out Design, Customer Support and Tricky Warranty
Open Range Rv - Bad Slide Out Design, Customer Support and Tricky Warranty
Update by user Feb 16, 2021

See Text below.

Update by user Feb 16, 2021

2018 OPEN RANGE MESA RIDGE 2910 rl

Original review posted by user Feb 16, 2021
Looks like joined the sad group of campers that are having to shell out big dollars to fix a rotted slide floor due to leaks resulting from poor sealing from the factory. Our Mesa Ridge 2910RL is currently in the shop...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2423176 Review #2423176 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Thonotosassa, Florida
Loss
$5300
Preferred solution
Pay for repair

It falls apart faster and I can fix it

It falls apart faster and I can fix it its gonna take about $20-$25,000 to fix it and I still owe about 21000 Ive already put thousands of dollars in this RV already it was a lemon from day one They protect themselves by cell and resell the company

User's recommendation: Do not buy open range.

View full review
ID
#2389756 Review #2389756 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

*** poor quality

We bought our new 2020 Open Range Light, and from the first time we took it out, we had a major problem. The kitchen slide-out wouldn't retract. Unfortunately, we had to leave it at the campground 3 additional days before a technician could help. To make a long story short, the service department where we bought it from found NUMEROUS problems and sent it back to the manufacturer in Indiana, not once................, twice! In the first year that we owned it, the dealership and manufacturer had it in their possession longer than we did. At one point the manufacturer offered to deliver the trailer to us, so they didn't have to deliver it back to the dealership! We have a list of problems identified by the service department at the dealership that were never fixed or addressed by the manufacturer. They claimed it was all good but the dealership said different. The only thing we can determine is, the manufacturer replaced the slide out mechanism and nothing more. When it arrived back at the dealership after the 2nd trip, their service department claimed the repairs were not completed. By this time, I got the owner of the dealership involved, who along with their service department guy, went over the trailer again. The owner of the dealership called and told us "sometimes we run into trailers that just weren't built right, and it appears you may have one of them." The owner of the dealership then told us, "I have two trailers identical to yours on my lot, I will swap one of them for yours." He called about half an hour later and told us, "That's not gonna work, these two trailers have the same problems yours has." He then agreed to make our travel trailer usable for the last few weeks left of the camping season, under the condition that we bring the trailer back at the end of the season, and they would fix it all over the winter months and back-charge the manufacturer for the repair work. At the end of the season, we dropped the trailer off at the dealership, only to be asked "Why did you drop it off, what's wrong with it? As it turned out, the dealership had fired the service tech who was acting on our behalf with the manufacturer and now pleaded ignorance to our problems. Here it is 15 months after we bought it and the fridge and freezer quit working. Luckily, I got the dealership to extend the factor warranty until the end of the years, because of the problems we've had. Luckily, we have a ton of emails to prove it all. Save yourself time and money, don't buy an Open Range Travel trailer. They're a POS!

User's recommendation: Buy from ANYONE other than the manufacturer Open range Trailers.

View full review
ID
#2190943 Review #2190943 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Pros
  • Camper layout
  • Nice layout
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Disappointed owner

We bought a new 2018 Mbh371. Trouble from day one. Slide bracket tore out of aluminum slide frame, main water tank had a factory flaw and flooded the basement area and a spring hanger broke resulting in an axle coming off on the highway. In two years this unit has been in the shop more than six months. Every time Open Range denied any coverage and we had to pay for the repairs totalling over $10000. Very poor workman ship and factory support was negligible. Just sold this piece of crap. Never buy an Open Range again.

User's recommendation: Stay away. Open Range junk.

View full review
ID
#2140849 Review #2140849 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Loss
$25
Preferred solution
Financial compensation for our loss at time of sale and loss of use over 2 years of constant problems

Brakes not working

Called the Highland Ridge service/help number got a nice young man. I asked him about the electric brake system. "My brakes aren't working" he couldn't find anything on the brake system. And didn't know anyone I could contact. Said maybe a rv dealer might know where a wiring diagram is.

User's recommendation: Be careful.

View full review
ID
#2116379 Review #2116379 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carrollton, Texas
New Reviewer
1st day using it our heater didnt work ( of course it was winter) so they put a new heater in and, within a couple days the floor around heater vent in bathroom started to turn reddish, purple and now black and melted the floor! A few days later In the middle of the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2059213 Review #2059213 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Milpitas, California
Preferred solution
Full refund

Part info

Called, instead of holding I opted for their call back option. I never did hear back from them.
View full review
ID
#2055386 Review #2055386 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Purchased brand new 2015 open range 5th wheel 376fbl, in June 2015 $53,000.00 since the first trip this rv has been nothing but a total nightmare, honestly there is so much that has gone wrong I can't even type it all but this should give you an idea. Entire floor has...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2047215 Review #2047215 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tuttle, Oklahoma

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

We were robbed of $90,000 by Open Range!

Yes, us too! Original owners of a beautiful 2017 Open Range 3X. It is 4110 and has the bunk house in the back. It is just a piece of garbage! We are so pissed off!! Pissed off because they wont stand behind their product! Open Range stopped taking calls from my repair person to receive compensation on COVERED problems in the first two years of ownership! They stopped returning my calls! I am a first responder and my husband is an educator. We have a young son at home and it is difficult for us to stay warm in the winter in this RV! Neither one of us have the time for this!! How can they sleep at night taking advantage of hard working people like this!?! Even if they were bought out by Jayco, Jayco should stand behind the brand that they now own!! We were RIPPED OFF!! They would not fix it under initial warranty! Now four years later the floors are literally falling through! The landing gear will not support the RV on one side so I cannot take it off my truck!!! There are gaps between weather stripping on ALL windows! There are gaps on top of slide outs for cold OR hot air to come in! The heater stopped working. The refrigerator stopped working and the steps to the front door have just disintegrated! The shower door fell apart.... This is supposed to be an all seasons RV. Its more like a one season use and then it self destructs RV! HAVE WE NO RECOURSE?!? I am angry! SHAME ON THEM FOR CHEATING US OUT OF OUR MONEY!!! IT WAS ALL WE HAD AFTER LOOSING OUR HOUSE!! We TRUSTED this company! The salesman told such believable lies!! They took our 90 grand! They stole our money!! I DID NOT agree to buy an RV that falls apart! This RV DOES NOT live up to their promises at all! This is fraud!!

User's recommendation: DO NOT buy an Open Range!!!

View full review
ID
#1993153 Review #1993153 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Design
  • Outside kitchen
  • We love the layout and the amenities
Cons
  • Craftmanship
  • All the problems we have had
  • Quality
Loss
$96
Preferred solution
FIX IT!!! Make it right!!!
New Reviewer

Won't approve or recall known issues with soft floor problems.

After months of research and RV shows we were so excited to order and receive our new 2017 3x397FBS July, 2016. On March 2017, we took the unit back to the dealer to have some minor warranty work and safety inspection done along with repairing a squeaky floor-joist aprox a foot in front of the refrigerator, between the center island and the 1/2 bath. A month later we're called and told all the warranty work the squeaky floor has been taken care of and the unit was ready to be picked up. From the time we picked up the unit, April 2017 till this past year 2019, we used the RV maybe 10 weeks, days at a time, and finally decided to go for a long full-timers trip. On or about Oct 2019, 1 month into our travels, we notice the floor was getting soft right at the same spot we had the Squeaky Joist repair. We marked the spot with a big X of Masking Tape and avoided walking about the area until we were able to take it back to the Dealer, May 2020. The technician contacted us today and told us he made several attempts to have the repairs covered under repeat warranty repair, but all have been denied and we were going to have to cover the expense if we wanted the floor fixed. It's going to be in excess of $7500.00 of work. Heres the Warranty Request: WARRANTY REQUEST TECH: 88 MFG: JAYCO RO#: 134775A DATE: 5/28/20 JOB#: 8 COMPLAINT: FLOOR IN FRONT OF REFER SOFT CAUSE: WEIGHT OF KITCHEN SLIDE COMBINED WITH BEING HIGHEST TRAFFIC AREA BETWEEN SINK AND REFER RENDERS MINIMUM REPAIR PREVIOUSLY APPROVED BY OPEN RANGE ON R/O 110864 TO ONLY ADD 1 JOIST INEFFECTIVE AND NOT A LASTING SOLUTION CORRECTION: REMOVE KITCHEN SLIDE - REMOVE ISLAND REMOVE SIDE CABINET - REMOVE ALL FLOOR TRIM - REMOVE BATHROOM DOOR AND DOOR JAM - REMOVE FULL LENO - REMOVE FULL UNDERBELLY - REMOVE GRAY TANK - REMOVE CENTER FLOOR PANELS AND FRAMING REBUILD FRAME REINFORCING CURRENTLY SOFT STRESSED TRAFFIC AREA WITH ANGLE IRON REINFORCED 2x4s - INSTALL NEW FLOOR PANELS - INSTALL REPLACEMENT LENO - REINSTALL BATHROOM DOOR JAM AND DOOR - REINSTALL ALL FLOOR TRIM - REINSTALL SIDE CABINET - REINSTALL ISLAND - REINSTALL KITCHEN SLIDE - REINSTALL GRAY TANK - REINSTALL FULL UNDERBELLY Time: 50 Also, speaking with the Tech, Soft floors are a very common issue and if caught during the warranty period are generally band-aid repairs, as ours was, when the above is what's necessary and recommended but denied.

User's recommendation: Recommendation is: If you're going to spend $80-$90K on a RV you best live in it "Full-Time" through the whole warranty period and then a month before the end take it to your dealer and have them do the repairs. The warranty costs may be high enough where you might just end up getting a new one in it’s place.

View full review
ID
#1985146 Review #1985146 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2017 Open Range Rv 3x427bhs Rv
Pros
  • Lots of interior space
  • Lots of interior storage
  • Great floor plan
Cons
  • Standard step stairs are flimsy
  • Not much exterior storage
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Quality stinks - kitchen slideout and water damage due to leaks

Update by user May 21, 2020

This trailer is a 2020 Open Range Highland Ridge 2910RL.

Update by user May 21, 2020

UPDATE: May 22, 2020. We never heard from the manufacturer as of this date.

The RV dealership performed repairs to the best of their ability. Noted was that the kitchen slide was missing a seal from the factory and put on the dealership lot to sell. Unfortunately the dealership noted that the floor damage was contributable to rocks getting under the slide and pointed the finger at us. Strange as the trailer only moved twice from the dealership to our lot where it sat in the same place for maintenance and repairs.

Isn't a trailer supposed to travel on roads and highways? Hmmmmm We again point our finger to the manufacturer as lousy, stinking quality. What are we supposed to do - park the trailer and not take it camping? Doesn't that defeat the purpose of RV'ing?

The dealership now has advised us that any future communication needs to be directly with the manufacturer.

Say what? So again fair warning to stay away from Open Range.

Original review posted by user Apr 18, 2020
Steer clear folks! Our NEW 2020 trailer has been at the dealership for 10 weeks for repairs! Kitchen slideout motors were not synchronized and motor malfunctioned on one side. Additionally the rubber seal failed on slideout in closed position and rain water damaged the flooring and deteriorated the end table closest to the slideout. Was told that the flooring can't be matched so they had to cut pieces under the sofa to match and then had to wait for the "special sealant". After several attempts using advice of youtube and RV dealer, we were able to close the slideout for travel for service. This involved opening and closing the slide-out in small increments while a 2nd party pushed inward on one corner of the slideout from outside. The exterior molding pulled away from trailer wall during these recommended steps. Dealership service department has been waiting for a) approval for repairs by manufacturer and b) lead time for parts. Again, this is a 2020 trailer and is under warranty! Why? Interior design is great but quality is in the toilet! At least that works!

User's recommendation: Avoid like COVID-19!!

View full review
ID
#1877412 Review #1877412 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Great floor plan
Cons
  • Quality
Preferred solution
Full refund

Drawer under stove stuck

I am no wondering if I can buy a drawer to replace this one. I might need to break off the cover to get in. The other way is to totally remove the stove & over which may cost over $200. Pulling this drawer by force and replacing it might cost les. Could you help me find out if I can buy a replacement drawer?
View full review
ID
#1789356 Review #1789356 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Scottsdale, Arizona
New Reviewer

WE ARE EXPERIENCING A NIGHTMARE

We bought a 2014 Open Range and we have had nothing but issues. We are now being told its going to cost around $15-$16K to replace the master bedroom slide, skylight, roof membrane, the control level panel and motor for the living room slide. DOES ANYONE HAVE A LAWSUIT AGAINST OPEN RANGE? This is just now 5 years old.
View full review
ID
#1679909 Review #1679909 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Quality is poor
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$22000
Preferred solution
File suit against Open Range
New Reviewer

Don't buy this Light 5th wheel.

Brand new and VERY little use Everything is falling apart. All trim has fallen off walls and around doors. DR table is not attached to floor. Shades do not work...they wad up, furniture is terrible. Recliner does not recline. Range hood fan and light do not work and dealer does not know where fuses are.Cant open medicine cabinet unless you remove hand towel from fixture. Brand new shower head had to be replaced as it is full of shavings of some kind. None of the fittings on pipes were tightened at factory. Leaking water from shower snd fresh water. Had to hire mobil repair 2 times to stop all water leaks. Pipes froze with trailer heated and us in it probably because they were leaking. We had used trailer 1 time. We are disgusted and wish we had never seen this 5th wheel. Extremely poor quality. DO NOT BUY!
View full review
ID
#1637044 Review #1637044 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California

Brands Related to Open Range Rv

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article