Most helpful review

Horrible Will Not Honor Warranty

BEWARE LEWIS RV OKLAHOMA CITY, OPEN RANGE, AND HIGHLAND RIDGE When I complete this story – I am sure there will be no one as far as I can reach that will do business with any three of these businesses. I will attach pictures of invoices at the end of this sad story. We...
View full review
View full review
10 comments
#2132937

I have a 2012 open range 5th wheel 338RLS with the outdoor kitchen i bought used . the one problem i had was wear the water lines from under the kitchen sink go out to the outdoor slide out kitchen.

the hot water was incased in a protective sleeve but the cold wasn't and when the slide would go out it would roll and got pinched buy the slide aluminum.I fixed it myself buy getting in through the wood floor of the left shelf area on the slide out and took one of those new type saws that go side to side and a drill and cut the hole bigger and put a piece of sump pump hose over the water line after i put in a brass hose barb and small hose clamps .problem fixed forever i hope. another solution would be to change the line all the way out to the sink in the slide with a stainless washing machine hose.. but i would still recommend the protective sleeve. Im the 3rd owner and have paper work from the 1st owner .they had trouble with the main slide floor getting wet which they got fixed.I had a wet corner in the bedroom slide .the water would come down the slide window in buckets because of the tilt of the trailer and the water would roll around at the bottom edge and weep upward to the floor .there is a metal track or something you can get to solve that problem but i took all the screws out and put white trailer sealer under the floor membrane ( they made it to short) and new screws and to really illuminate the problem put solera slide out awnings on all 3 slides.

we actually love the layout of this trailer 35'. these have allot of good features built in .I also replaced the relay( it was burned out) for the hot water tank to work on electric . I had to lay in the bay and look for it and after 3 tries found it was behind and built into the plastic box that's attached to the back of the hot water tank .It was a little tight the wireing so i added a piece of wire so in the future it will be easier. the relay was 9.00 and change.

I replaced all the interior lights with LED bulbs which is much better. I also took the range hood off and cut the back out where the fan is and put a piece of metal over the old exhaust hole and held it up and a friend marked the opening and i then cut out the side of the trailer and installed a plastic range vent to the outside using the vent as a template to cut it out. i guess they figure the fantastic fan will suck out all the steam from boilling water ,it doesn't. I also last summer replacd the carefree awning with a dometic brand which i think are better quality.

i also added sewer hose holders 2 of them under the trailer made from plastic fence post covers.all ready to travel summer of 2022 but fuel prices are putting the cabash on that for me maybe.

all an all we love the trailer and the storage inside and find it better than new ones . signed Gary and Pat

View more comments
ID
#1198077 Review #1198077 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Open Range Rv Rv
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

Septic smell in cabin of RV

Customer service agent indicated that they do not have any information on a 2011 open range as they did not take over Highland range until 2014.
View full review
ID
#2866732 Review #2866732 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Just need help with useful information to fix my 2011 Open Range I bought used.
New Reviewer

Open range almost killed me twice from their neglect

Open Range Rv - Open range almost killed me twice from their neglect
My 2020 brand new 42 ft Open range 5 th wheel almost killed me now twice not even kidding From non working heaters to heaters that wont turn off that reacted to whatever chemical is in the *** flooring turning my bathroom floor black and burnt. But chemical burn not...
View full review
View full review
Featured
ID
#2823401 Review #2823401 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Post Falls, Idaho
Cons
  • Horrible camper horrible company
New Reviewer

*** poor craftsmanship

Too many miss fits on interior finish work, in places the trim is an inch short, self leveling system wasn't even working on delivery,

User's recommendation: Don’t buy it.

View full review
ID
#2821956 Review #2821956 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Everett, Washington
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

850346****

Trying to get a simple answer about a question concerning hot water in my open range light. But you are closed right now
View full review
ID
#2738890 Review #2738890 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas

Low jacks

Jacks are set way to low on the rear of the 5th wheel. 6 1/2 of the ground. Not sure if you know but in California most curbs are 8. Making it necessary to do a two inch lift on the trailer.
View full review
ID
#2697206 Review #2697206 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lancaster, California
New Reviewer

Bad Slide Out Design, Customer Support and Tricky Warranty

Open Range Rv - Bad Slide Out Design, Customer Support and Tricky Warranty
Open Range Rv - Bad Slide Out Design, Customer Support and Tricky Warranty
Update by user Feb 16, 2021

See Text below.

Update by user Feb 16, 2021

2018 OPEN RANGE MESA RIDGE 2910 rl

Original review posted by user Feb 16, 2021
Looks like joined the sad group of campers that are having to shell out big dollars to fix a rotted slide floor due to leaks resulting from poor sealing from the factory. Our Mesa Ridge 2910RL is currently in the shop...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2062885

Similar problem with large slide-out in our 2014 Open Range. Rotted floor.

Roof also completely rotted despite our regular maintenance. Open Range is junk.

ID
#2423176 Review #2423176 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Thonotosassa, Florida
Loss
$5300
Preferred solution
Pay for repair

It falls apart faster and I can fix it

It falls apart faster and I can fix it its gonna take about $20-$25,000 to fix it and I still owe about 21000 Ive already put thousands of dollars in this RV already it was a lemon from day one They protect themselves by cell and resell the company

User's recommendation: Do not buy open range.

View full review
ID
#2389756 Review #2389756 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mission, Texas
New Reviewer

*** poor quality

We bought our new 2020 Open Range Light, and from the first time we took it out, we had a major problem. The kitchen slide-out wouldn't retract. Unfortunately, we had to leave it at the campground 3 additional days before a technician could help. To make a long story short, the service department where we bought it from found NUMEROUS problems and sent it back to the manufacturer in Indiana, not once................, twice! In the first year that we owned it, the dealership and manufacturer had it in their possession longer than we did. At one point the manufacturer offered to deliver the trailer to us, so they didn't have to deliver it back to the dealership! We have a list of problems identified by the service department at the dealership that were never fixed or addressed by the manufacturer. They claimed it was all good but the dealership said different. The only thing we can determine is, the manufacturer replaced the slide out mechanism and nothing more. When it arrived back at the dealership after the 2nd trip, their service department claimed the repairs were not completed. By this time, I got the owner of the dealership involved, who along with their service department guy, went over the trailer again. The owner of the dealership called and told us "sometimes we run into trailers that just weren't built right, and it appears you may have one of them." The owner of the dealership then told us, "I have two trailers identical to yours on my lot, I will swap one of them for yours." He called about half an hour later and told us, "That's not gonna work, these two trailers have the same problems yours has." He then agreed to make our travel trailer usable for the last few weeks left of the camping season, under the condition that we bring the trailer back at the end of the season, and they would fix it all over the winter months and back-charge the manufacturer for the repair work. At the end of the season, we dropped the trailer off at the dealership, only to be asked "Why did you drop it off, what's wrong with it? As it turned out, the dealership had fired the service tech who was acting on our behalf with the manufacturer and now pleaded ignorance to our problems. Here it is 15 months after we bought it and the fridge and freezer quit working. Luckily, I got the dealership to extend the factor warranty until the end of the years, because of the problems we've had. Luckily, we have a ton of emails to prove it all. Save yourself time and money, don't buy an Open Range Travel trailer. They're a POS!

User's recommendation: Buy from ANYONE other than the manufacturer Open range Trailers.

View full review
ID
#2190943 Review #2190943 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Pros
  • Nice layout
  • Camper layout
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Disappointed owner

We bought a new 2018 Mbh371. Trouble from day one. Slide bracket tore out of aluminum slide frame, main water tank had a factory flaw and flooded the basement area and a spring hanger broke resulting in an axle coming off on the highway. In two years this unit has been in the shop more than six months. Every time Open Range denied any coverage and we had to pay for the repairs totalling over $10000. Very poor workman ship and factory support was negligible. Just sold this piece of crap. Never buy an Open Range again.

User's recommendation: Stay away. Open Range junk.

View full review
ID
#2140849 Review #2140849 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Loss
$25
Preferred solution
Financial compensation for our loss at time of sale and loss of use over 2 years of constant problems

Brakes not working

Called the Highland Ridge service/help number got a nice young man. I asked him about the electric brake system. "My brakes aren't working" he couldn't find anything on the brake system. And didn't know anyone I could contact. Said maybe a rv dealer might know where a wiring diagram is.

User's recommendation: Be careful.

View full review
1 comment
#2182144

FYI your brakes are not at fault of open range..... They are a separate wiring system.

Most likely and broken brake wire or magnet on the backing plate.

So before you decide to put blame on the trailer manufacture get your facts straight. Oh FYI again the axles are Dexter axles so maybe go talk to them if you don't know your wiring properly.

ID
#2116379 Review #2116379 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carrollton, Texas
New Reviewer

Lost count on how many things are wrong with it!

1st day using it our heater didnt work ( of course it was winter) so they put a new heater in and, within a couple days the floor around heater vent in bathroom started to turn reddish, purple and now black and melted the floor! A few days later In the middle of the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2059213 Review #2059213 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Milpitas, California
Preferred solution
Full refund

Part info

Called, instead of holding I opted for their call back option. I never did hear back from them.
View full review
ID
#2055386 Review #2055386 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota

RVs, Motorhomes and Trailers Expert Talks

RV Camping: Everything You Need to Know About RV Travel

Nov 13, 2020

RVs are popular this year. So, how do you plan an RV trip? What’s it like to live in an RV? Where to go RV camping in the US? We asked Mark Koep, an RV expert and the owner of Campground Views to answer consumers’ top questions about RV trips.

Mark Koep
Mark Koep

Mark Koep is an owner of CampgroundViews.com and an RV expert, who knows everything about RV parks and campgrounds in the US.

OPEN RANGE TOTAL NIGHTMARE

Purchased brand new 2015 open range 5th wheel 376fbl, in June 2015 $53,000.00 since the first trip this rv has been nothing but a total nightmare, honestly there is so much that has gone wrong I can't even type it all but this should give you an idea. Entire floor has...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2047215 Review #2047215 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tuttle, Oklahoma

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

We were robbed of $90,000 by Open Range!

Yes, us too! Original owners of a beautiful 2017 Open Range 3X. It is 4110 and has the bunk house in the back. It is just a piece of garbage! We are so pissed off!! Pissed off because they wont stand behind their product! Open Range stopped taking calls from my repair person to receive compensation on COVERED problems in the first two years of ownership! They stopped returning my calls! I am a first responder and my husband is an educator. We have a young son at home and it is difficult for us to stay warm in the winter in this RV! Neither one of us have the time for this!! How can they sleep at night taking advantage of hard working people like this!?! Even if they were bought out by Jayco, Jayco should stand behind the brand that they now own!! We were RIPPED OFF!! They would not fix it under initial warranty! Now four years later the floors are literally falling through! The landing gear will not support the RV on one side so I cannot take it off my truck!!! There are gaps between weather stripping on ALL windows! There are gaps on top of slide outs for cold OR hot air to come in! The heater stopped working. The refrigerator stopped working and the steps to the front door have just disintegrated! The shower door fell apart.... This is supposed to be an all seasons RV. Its more like a one season use and then it self destructs RV! HAVE WE NO RECOURSE?!? I am angry! SHAME ON THEM FOR CHEATING US OUT OF OUR MONEY!!! IT WAS ALL WE HAD AFTER LOOSING OUR HOUSE!! We TRUSTED this company! The salesman told such believable lies!! They took our 90 grand! They stole our money!! I DID NOT agree to buy an RV that falls apart! This RV DOES NOT live up to their promises at all! This is fraud!!

User's recommendation: DO NOT buy an Open Range!!!

View full review
ID
#1993153 Review #1993153 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • We love the layout and the amenities
  • Design
  • Outside kitchen
Cons
  • All the problems we have had
  • Workmanship
  • Quality
Loss
$96
Preferred solution
FIX IT!!! Make it right!!!
New Reviewer

Won't approve or recall known issues with soft floor problems.

After months of research and RV shows we were so excited to order and receive our new 2017 3x397FBS July, 2016. On March 2017, we took the unit back to the dealer to have some minor warranty work and safety inspection done along with repairing a squeaky floor-joist aprox a foot in front of the refrigerator, between the center island and the 1/2 bath. A month later we're called and told all the warranty work the squeaky floor has been taken care of and the unit was ready to be picked up. From the time we picked up the unit, April 2017 till this past year 2019, we used the RV maybe 10 weeks, days at a time, and finally decided to go for a long full-timers trip. On or about Oct 2019, 1 month into our travels, we notice the floor was getting soft right at the same spot we had the Squeaky Joist repair. We marked the spot with a big X of Masking Tape and avoided walking about the area until we were able to take it back to the Dealer, May 2020. The technician contacted us today and told us he made several attempts to have the repairs covered under repeat warranty repair, but all have been denied and we were going to have to cover the expense if we wanted the floor fixed. It's going to be in excess of $7500.00 of work. Heres the Warranty Request: WARRANTY REQUEST TECH: 88 MFG: JAYCO RO#: 134775A DATE: 5/28/20 JOB#: 8 COMPLAINT: FLOOR IN FRONT OF REFER SOFT CAUSE: WEIGHT OF KITCHEN SLIDE COMBINED WITH BEING HIGHEST TRAFFIC AREA BETWEEN SINK AND REFER RENDERS MINIMUM REPAIR PREVIOUSLY APPROVED BY OPEN RANGE ON R/O 110864 TO ONLY ADD 1 JOIST INEFFECTIVE AND NOT A LASTING SOLUTION CORRECTION: REMOVE KITCHEN SLIDE - REMOVE ISLAND REMOVE SIDE CABINET - REMOVE ALL FLOOR TRIM - REMOVE BATHROOM DOOR AND DOOR JAM - REMOVE FULL LENO - REMOVE FULL UNDERBELLY - REMOVE GRAY TANK - REMOVE CENTER FLOOR PANELS AND FRAMING REBUILD FRAME REINFORCING CURRENTLY SOFT STRESSED TRAFFIC AREA WITH ANGLE IRON REINFORCED 2x4s - INSTALL NEW FLOOR PANELS - INSTALL REPLACEMENT LENO - REINSTALL BATHROOM DOOR JAM AND DOOR - REINSTALL ALL FLOOR TRIM - REINSTALL SIDE CABINET - REINSTALL ISLAND - REINSTALL KITCHEN SLIDE - REINSTALL GRAY TANK - REINSTALL FULL UNDERBELLY Time: 50 Also, speaking with the Tech, Soft floors are a very common issue and if caught during the warranty period are generally band-aid repairs, as ours was, when the above is what's necessary and recommended but denied.

User's recommendation: Recommendation is: If you're going to spend $80-$90K on a RV you best live in it "Full-Time" through the whole warranty period and then a month before the end take it to your dealer and have them do the repairs. The warranty costs may be high enough where you might just end up getting a new one in it’s place.

View full review
ID
#1985146 Review #1985146 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2017 Open Range Rv 3x427bhs Rv
Pros
  • Great floor plan
  • Lots of interior storage
  • Lite weight
Cons
  • Standard step stairs are flimsy
  • Not much exterior storage
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article